TKAA Gives Grants to Elementary Teachers

“We understand the challenges of new teachers, so we started a new program this year to give a grant to all of our new elementary teachers,” said TKAA President Randy Eggers. “It’s a little something you can use to help establish your classrooms.”


Eggers, TKAA treasurer Wanita Huizenga, and trustee Don Williamson presented the grants recently, welcoming them all to the TK family. “We hope you have a long and successful career here at TK,” said Huizenga.


This year, Thornapple Kellogg has 10 new elementary teachers each receiving the $100 gift.


New elementary teachers are:

McFall Elementary

Emily Harper and Jenna DeYoung - kindergarten 

Eliana Condotti and Alaina Brandt - first grade  


Lee Elementary

Emma Johnson - second grade

Becky Branch - art


Page Elementary

Elise La More - Art

Brooke Pell, Lindsay Eberling and Sunday Bosworth - fourth grade

The TKAA formed in 2016 with just $2,000 and by 2017 was fully endowed. They were able to present their first TKAA Scholarship to a member of the Class of 2019 and now give two $750 scholarships each year to graduates. The organization has a fundraising golf event in the spring and hosts an all-school alumni reunion in the spring as well.


The group honors alumni with the Distinguished Alumni Award at the spring reunion and before the homecoming football game. 


The TKAA Board and Trustees meet the first Thursday of each month in Room 103 of Thornapple Kellogg High School. For more information about the alumni association, visit their Facebook page at Thornapple Kellogg Alumni Association or their web page at and under About TK visit Alumni.


2022 TKAA Officers

President - Randy Eggers (1980)

Vice President - Jody Pratt (1966)

Treasurer - Wanita Huizenga (1977)

Secretary - Howie Gragg (1970)

Historian - Cindy Middlebush (1978)


2022 TKAA Trustees

Don Williamson (1957)                  

Kim Bender (1973)                                                  

Jeana VanderMuelen (1984)                                 

Ashley Moore (2007)

Karen Kennedy (1976)

Mary Ann Klinge (1973)

Janet Geukes (1961)

Brenda Seifert (1973)

Brenda Hess (1985)

Merry Jo Biggs (1981)